2012 in a Nutshell


I’ve looked at the stats. As a blogging year goes, it appears my figures did not light up the firmament. There were no blinding flashes as my brilliance/scorching wit/profuse postings landed in the inboxes of my millions of eagerly awaiting followers. In fact – this was not a year of jam-packed catchy or philosophical dispatches. From the evidence of WordPress stats ‘monkeys’ it appears that I’ve only been awake for a very small part of this year. I have been too idle to comment on happenings in the wider world. The Olympics seem to have left me cold. The paralypics have gone by unobserved. And Rory McIlroys’ truimph (Where was that again??) was only golf. Not worth getting out of bed to watch. The figures portray me as a misanthrope.

And yet….and yet…

I have actually been active at different times over the course of the year. Not that you are all that interested. Buuuutttt – and this is the beauty of blogging – I could have pulled at your heart strings, made you thrill at my exploits, made you shudder at my misadventures. I could have had some followers!!!! I could have raised my blogging profile. I could have been a blogging star of 2012!!!!

Instead – I devolved all of this responsibility onto that other, very deserving very radiant blogging virtuouso – Speccy at Me, Mine and Other Bits.

Well. Now I’m going to state my one and only New Year Resolution. I’m going to do better next year!!Watch out, blogging awards 2013!

About xtrekki

OK - I've been doing this for almost a year now and have still not mastered the mysteries of blogging!! WHAT are widgets? What are tags? Where on the dashboard do I find them or an explanation of how I can get them to work for me? In other aspects of my life I am fairly sharp. I could certainly be advisor to Hercule Poirot in unraveling his most impenetrable of cases. So - why oh why can I not figure out how to manage this bloomin' blog???????
This entry was posted in Current affairs, Books, Bookclubs, Grey's Anatomy, Stella, Adventures with friends, Shoes, Food, Wine, Family. And everything in between!!!. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2012 in a Nutshell

  1. speccy says:

    blogging virtuoso?! I didn’t even look at the annual stats, which I reckon I’d need to do if I’m to improve/ wow the world/ whatever. I’m too busy sleeping to be bothered with detail 🙂

  2. Patti says:

    I didn’t exactly light up the WordPress world in 2012 either, but I’ve held on to some worthy readers, so I’m committed to forging ahead in 2013 – because really, how else am I going to keep in touch with my international friends?

  3. xtrekki says:

    Speccy – The annual stats report was in my inbox – the only email unopened for a week. It goaded me. It taunted me. Eventually I had to open it! Although I just knew it would make for uncomfortable reading. I aspire to be consistent as you are.Thoughtful as you are. And, of course, as creative at the photography!!
    Patti – you too have remained consistent, true to your blogging audience/friends. And have mastered the art of page refumatting (a majoy achievement, in my book!!)

  4. xtrekki says:

    Patti – that, of course, should have read reformatting (rather than that other odd, somewhat rude sounding word I managed to write!!)

Looking forward to hearing from you...often!