Saturday Night Line -Up


Now I’m not just writing this because Speccy has drawn attention to the imminence of the Blog Awards Ireland event and the voting which is now underway. In fact, has been ongoing for a couple of weeks, already (perhaps if I had had a gameplan I could have voted zillions of times for myself and made it look as though I had some followers outside my family!)

No, I’m writing because tonight is Saturday night. X-Factor is on TV. I’d really rather count the slugs in the garden than watch the antics of judges and hopefuls alike. But it’s dark now and the slugs are blending too well with their surroundings to be counted. (OMG – it sounds sooooo miserable to be confessing here that I am planning to be sitting in on Bank Holiday Saturday night!!)  I saw some of the ‘highlights’ of last weeks’ show and realized again that car crash TV taints the viewer as much as the participant. (OMG again – there I was – home early enough to be watching TV last Saturday night as well!! Note to self – GET A LIFE!!!)

This is not to suggest that I’m against shows which can nurture talent or offer support to those willing to follow their dreams. But it does seem that this show lays heavy emphasis on exploiting disappointment, delusion, human deficiency, for their ratings value, for their entertainment value. As I say – car crash TV.

At times it can certainly be compulsive viewing. Squirm making, but hard to turn away from. But there comes a time in one’s life when one has to say – “Louie/Gary – you are talent show judges – not presidents of autonomous fiefdoms. Don’t be so breathtakingly pretentious and patronizing to everyone!!!” And while you’re changing that habit of a lifetime – show us more/longer clips from the good competitors – they deserve it.

About xtrekki

OK - I've been doing this for almost a year now and have still not mastered the mysteries of blogging!! WHAT are widgets? What are tags? Where on the dashboard do I find them or an explanation of how I can get them to work for me? In other aspects of my life I am fairly sharp. I could certainly be advisor to Hercule Poirot in unraveling his most impenetrable of cases. So - why oh why can I not figure out how to manage this bloomin' blog???????
This entry was posted in Current affairs, Books, Bookclubs, Grey's Anatomy, Stella, Adventures with friends, Shoes, Food, Wine, Family. And everything in between!!! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Looking forward to hearing from you...often!

