The Future


Ok, I get it. Yesterdays’ post was a rant. nobody wanted to read it. An object lesson for one in competition for NI blogger of the year. Not that I expect to be within shouting distance of that – but it makes one feel bad to think that ones’ choice of subject matter can. as Mr WB Yeats would say, ‘maim us from the start’.

So today I’m taking a different approach. I’m going for the feelgood factor. So. Guess what? We are welcoming another new born baby into the family today. (Well, at this point, actually, it was yesterday!) Relative to the mother of said child, our new relation is of giant proportions. Nine pounds thirteen ounces. Big in anyone’s book, he’s approaching the total weight of his two older brothers.

Now, this is a baby which was expected two weeks ago. So – what does that tell us? That he’s an individual? That he’s not going to be rushed? That he will not conform to expectations?

Whatever his agenda, we’re all thrilled. He looks good, healthy, half grown and ready for his first barbers’ appointment! For those of you who may be interested, his mother is recovering from the shock of giving birth to a child which is almost half her body weight! And we’re all looking forward to welcoming him to the Big Big Booksale (with Cakes)  – (those of you accessing Facebook will know we have organized this for Sat 26th May 2012 in aid of Marie Curie Cancer Care at the Black Box in Hill Street. Have to plug it wherever I can!!!)

So. Now you know. This is grandchild number five for us. All boys. (Probably just as well, at this stage – so much handier for recycling of clothes!)

About xtrekki

OK - I've been doing this for almost a year now and have still not mastered the mysteries of blogging!! WHAT are widgets? What are tags? Where on the dashboard do I find them or an explanation of how I can get them to work for me? In other aspects of my life I am fairly sharp. I could certainly be advisor to Hercule Poirot in unraveling his most impenetrable of cases. So - why oh why can I not figure out how to manage this bloomin' blog???????
This entry was posted in Current affairs, Books, Bookclubs, Grey's Anatomy, Stella, Adventures with friends, Shoes, Food, Wine, Family. And everything in between!!!. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Future

  1. speccy says:

    Yay! Congratulations to you all 🙂
    Also, I did read yesterday’s post and agreed with it; such horrors just take the power of speech (and typing) from me. You’ll know I can rant with the best of them about all sorts of trivia, but such inhumanity just overwhelms me.
    Write whatever you feel like writing. Your blog is about what you want!

Looking forward to hearing from you...often!

