The First Step


….. And there I was, driving to work this evening when  – what do you think??? —-Ohh – isn’t it sounding novel to hear that phrase from me again???!!

Yes – I did get there. And yes the systems have been reorganized. And no I was not able to operate them because no I was not able to access the computer (password having expired and new password having to be authorized online by IT. During daytime hours.)

Not that I would have had time to open a computer anyway, much less record anything, email anyone or even play a little Spider solitaire online. Weeell – an easy trial run would have been unrepresentative of the nature of what awaits a returning full timer. Nevertheless – I would have wished for just a little more breathing space between queries. You know – to read the book I had optimistically packed in my bag. Or play with that other new toy I have recently taken possession of -the Samsung Galaxy Ace (Android) phone. (All enunciated fully – showing my total infatuation with this machine which is way more sophisticated than me and is probably embarrassed by my technical illiteracy!)

Anyway. Now I’m home again. Two hours late and not finished yet. Things to finish off tomorrow.

But – I was in an environment where people took for granted that I was professional, capable at the work and with a clear understanding of the appropriate responses. Dear help their wit!!! Still – it is reassuring that one’s internal panic does not necessarily show in one’s external demeanour. That’s the affirmation required for the next hurdle!

PS – as for what I heard on the way to work – I was listening to the news reporting of newly released information about the early stages of the Hillsborough disaster investigation. Where top Liverpool police officers blamed drunken Liverpool fans of having caused the event. It just made me think that, at the time when the Police Service in general was being panned for it’s institutional racism, (ref, Stephen Lawrence enquiry) that other dangerous culture of  ‘them and us’ flourished unchecked and unremarked. Yet it engendered attitudes such as witnessed in this pronouncement. And led to the outrageous extraction of bodily fluids from the fatalities, in order to test for alcohol levels.

I was left speechless. And really rather shaken that there should have been attempts from the outset to cast blame on those who could no longer speak for themselves.

 

About xtrekki

OK - I've been doing this for almost a year now and have still not mastered the mysteries of blogging!! WHAT are widgets? What are tags? Where on the dashboard do I find them or an explanation of how I can get them to work for me? In other aspects of my life I am fairly sharp. I could certainly be advisor to Hercule Poirot in unraveling his most impenetrable of cases. So - why oh why can I not figure out how to manage this bloomin' blog???????
This entry was posted in Current affairs, Books, Bookclubs, Grey's Anatomy, Stella, Adventures with friends, Shoes, Food, Wine, Family. And everything in between!!! and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Looking forward to hearing from you...often!

