The Round Robin


Well apparently I’ve missed the round robin. Not only is my blog publishing going astray, but my incoming emails seem also to be falling short of the mark. Have I inadvertently done harm to someone? Have I slipped into someone’s hit list somehow? Am I a social pariah?  Am I paranoid? Does my persecution complex sound well developed?

Perhaps it’s because it has been finely sculpted around a very mature guilt complex. Which is important when you understand that the alleged email was a reference to the upcoming bookclub. It urged (I am reliably advised) that all members (and that probably includes me, although, as I have mentioned I was not a recipient of said round robin) drop their other pursuits for the appointed evening, cast aside their  charity fundraising, their taekwondo classes, vital Friday evening bible study, revitalizing/reckless singles bar evenings to join in civilized discussion about the book which we have, over the past month, been poring over.

An uplifting evening is promised. Well – at least good food, wine, friends – and, of course that conversation about the book.

You will notice I have not actually alluded to the title of said book. Which is, of course, the key to my guilt. And my dilemma. I have read at least four books – perhaps five – since our last bookclub. Just not the bookclub choice. In my defence, this is only the third in over four years that I have not quite managed to get through. The other two were turgid, monotonous, humourless. This one – I can’t say. I had at least started the others! It seems I couldn’t borrow it – My Guiding Light had it on Kindle, but………well you know my facility with technology. Dinosaur to the end, I remain an avid crusader for the virtues of the hard copy, of the genius of the printing press. I simply failed to get a hold of said hard copy.

So – that would be a no. I didn’t check it out on the kindle either. That would require that I knew how to turn it on.

Which brings me full circle. The round robin. I didn’t get it. Should I take that as a termination of my bookclub membership? Should I guess that somehow or other the hostess intuited my guilt?  How did she get to be so psychic without us noticing?????

Can I in all conscience turn up for the food and conversation alone, without contribution to any meaningful analysis of characterization, plot, language and overall execution of the story???

On the other hand – will anyone notice any difference in my contribution to the above? Surely it is my hypnotic wit they would miss more?? And it would be such an insult to our gracious hostess to miss her night. Wouldn’t it??

About xtrekki

OK - I've been doing this for almost a year now and have still not mastered the mysteries of blogging!! WHAT are widgets? What are tags? Where on the dashboard do I find them or an explanation of how I can get them to work for me? In other aspects of my life I am fairly sharp. I could certainly be advisor to Hercule Poirot in unraveling his most impenetrable of cases. So - why oh why can I not figure out how to manage this bloomin' blog???????
This entry was posted in BOOKCLUBBBBB and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Round Robin

  1. speccy says:

    what? wait… you mean it’s meant to be all about the book?

  2. xtrekki says:

    I started to have doubts because we were being reined in from that wild spectrum of alternative events. Or was that just a ruse?

  3. Kileen says:

    Since the book is only the cover for the evening, not reading/obtaining it doesn’t exclude you (though did you check your local library for it?). We would miss your hypnotic wit plus you’ve now come up with an even more intriguing list of alternative activities – are we going to have another evening of revelations to match the last bookclub?? On the paranoid front, I tried 3 email addresses I have for you – all mail returned or no reply…are you trying to tell me something 😦 ??

  4. xtrekki says:

    Does that imply that you’ve never bothered emailing me before, or including me in previous round robins?? I’m so huuurrt!!

  5. Kileen says:

    You’d have been way too busy with the reckless bible study in the revitalizing singles bars to notice lack of emails.

  6. xtrekki says:

    Well – one does have to live… and I’ve otherwise been so restricted recently! But exclusion by friends is sooo hurtful!

Looking forward to hearing from you...often!

