Back in the – er- saddle???


Almost the view from the bedroom window!Over the past few months I have been laid low. Not so low that I have been unable to enjoy the view from my own window (almost illustrated above), but enough to keep me from much in the way of active socialization. And from work.

But all good things must come to an end (WHY??? – Very Plaintive Cry!). I have a return date for the near future. But before that, there is another test. The second job beckons. Tonight.

I have worked in this post for six years. I should go with equanimity. But it is always very unpredictable and tonight I’m on with the boss. I’m riven by doubts.

Do I still remember what to do? Will I panic at the first/second/third query? Have the rules changed since I’ve been away? Lots has been happening there and I have intentionally not sought updating. NOW I see the error of that policy! I haven’t even seen any of my co-workers in the time I’ve been off. Will they recognize me? (You remember – the gym, the healthy food, the relaxation techniques and all that??!)

Aaand yet. I feel a tingle of excitement. As I always did when going to this job. Because it’s unpredictable. And tomorrow the queries I have dealt with today will become someone else’s issue.

So – this will be a sort of trial run for the real thing looming ahead. When the doubts will be much more sustained!

About xtrekki

OK - I've been doing this for almost a year now and have still not mastered the mysteries of blogging!! WHAT are widgets? What are tags? Where on the dashboard do I find them or an explanation of how I can get them to work for me? In other aspects of my life I am fairly sharp. I could certainly be advisor to Hercule Poirot in unraveling his most impenetrable of cases. So - why oh why can I not figure out how to manage this bloomin' blog???????
This entry was posted in Panic/doubts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back in the – er- saddle???

  1. xtrekki says:

    Airports Made Simple is now following my blog! How on earth did they find it?? They must be really high tech to have traced it!!

  2. Kileen says:

    They’ve heard you’re a travel guru & want to learn from you.

  3. xtrekki says:

    Aaaaahh – that’s it!! Would they pay for that, do you think? Enough for me to give up the day job??

Looking forward to hearing from you...often!

