Willpower. Or not?


OK, it’s been a while. Do I still remember how to use the laptop? Do I still remember how to post a blog?? Well – the latter is probably a superfluous question since successful posting of blogs was never my forte anyway. Meanwhile I’ve been investing all my spare time upgrading my technique in Spider Solitaire.

I should probably have been developing more financially or at least socially remunerative skills but there you are – I’ve been trapped by what at first appeared as a harmless, victimless pursuit. And swiftly changed into a voracious, time-consuming addiction. I may not be sniffing, smoking, injecting uncertain noxious substances but I am certainly withdrawn from civil society for long periods whilst indulging this superficially acceptable pastime.

Although non-Catholic, I decided to give up crisps/nuts/sweets for Lent, as I have done in years past. Much more to do with reducing consumption of rubbish than with religious conviction, it has to be said. In hindsight, if I had thought about what would be real hardship for me, I would have given up playing Spider Solitaire. Which would have fitted well with the Lenten injunction to do it as a personal challenge/promise rather than flashing the intention around the world (as I am doing right now!) since, in truth, at this point I’d rather not admit to anyone how much time I devote to ‘chasing the spider’.

On the other hand my free time is to be foreshortened in the very near future. Probably not enough time to perfect the blog writing thing. Just enough to stock up on the Spider experience!

But maybe there’ll still be time to blog on the spider withdrawal process. See you soon, hopefully.

About xtrekki

OK - I've been doing this for almost a year now and have still not mastered the mysteries of blogging!! WHAT are widgets? What are tags? Where on the dashboard do I find them or an explanation of how I can get them to work for me? In other aspects of my life I am fairly sharp. I could certainly be advisor to Hercule Poirot in unraveling his most impenetrable of cases. So - why oh why can I not figure out how to manage this bloomin' blog???????
This entry was posted in Current affairs, Books, Bookclubs, Grey's Anatomy, Stella, Adventures with friends, Shoes, Food, Wine, Family. And everything in between!!!. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Willpower. Or not?

  1. Kileen says:

    Yayyyy you’re blogging again!!! Now what’s this upcoming time foreshortening thing?

  2. xtrekki says:

    Well – this is me having to brave the real world in the all to soon future. Now the healthy routine I have built in to my erstwhile lifestyle is about to come crumbling down around me!!!

Looking forward to hearing from you...often!

