Duty Calls


I know you will understand that I’m not going to count days until…….. But there are soooo many tasks to be completed (started???) within what would appear now to be so little time. So. I’m going to take the bull by the horns today. I’m going to write some cards!!!!

This arouses emotions of shock/surprize/delight within me because there have been a number of years when I haven’t managed to find the time (or the energy) to get around to doing this. And one or two when, having written the cards, I didn’t get around to posting them. Yet others when they were being posted on Christmas Eve. (Although there has also been the rare occasion when they were completed and posted by the end of November).

I have been thrust into this by receipt yesterday of my annual card from Canada. Clearly from a rellie who is much more organized than me, who observes the rituals, maintains communications and checks last posting dates more closely than I do. In other words, I am really being shamed into this! I have pressies to send abroad. Unfortunately these have not yet been bought. Surely the least I can manage is to get the cards (which have long been in our possession) en route.

Thus the baking bug (short-lived, as you can see) is to be set aside whilst duty is attended to.

Apart from which the cards can be written in the family room. The only room in the house which has been warm over this past week, as our recently installed gas heating refuses to produce temperatures above those outdoors.

At least if I write the cards I can await the gas/boiler men in comfort!

About xtrekki

OK - I've been doing this for almost a year now and have still not mastered the mysteries of blogging!! WHAT are widgets? What are tags? Where on the dashboard do I find them or an explanation of how I can get them to work for me? In other aspects of my life I am fairly sharp. I could certainly be advisor to Hercule Poirot in unraveling his most impenetrable of cases. So - why oh why can I not figure out how to manage this bloomin' blog???????
This entry was posted in Current affairs, Books, Bookclubs, Grey's Anatomy, Stella, Adventures with friends, Shoes, Food, Wine, Family. And everything in between!!!. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Duty Calls

  1. speccy says:

    I can’t believe you are still so cold! Are you all wearing layers of thermals?

  2. xtrekki says:

    I can hardly move under the layers of warm clothes I’ve been forced to wear over the past week or two at home!! I look forward with something approaching awe and mystical expectation to the day when this house will be warm!!

Looking forward to hearing from you...often!

