Learning for life…


You’ll be glad to hear that I didn’t listen to the news at all yesterday, so will not be devoting this post to acerbic comment on any current affair(s). No – today will be spent bemoaning that other timeworn motif – my perverse ineptitude with ‘easy’ technology.

Having been awed by Kileen’s compilation of photographs from her recent American odyssey, I have been seduced into attempting my own small homage to triumphant/stirring/diverting pastimes. Not to compete, you understand. More of an aide-memoire. (I’m a woman of a certain age, you must understand, with an increasingly fluid grasp on sensations vital to recall).

Thus I embarked on what should have been a two hour project. Which has not been completed, three days later. True, much time was spent considering the specific choice of topic. Only then could the extensive photo ‘possibles’ list be selected, which could be whittled down to the ‘probables’ list and from thence to the ‘definites’  for uploading.

Which was where the process ground to its sludgy halt. Because the ‘how-to’ video posted by the photobook company only went as far as the uploading. It explained that the format of the book had to be chosen first and the preset theme for the graphics. It made no mention of how to translate the uploaded photos onto this chosen format.

On the other hand, during today’s Sunday visit to the folks, my 82 year old mother was explaining to me about going onto u-tube for tutorials on every conceivable task and trade. She has assured me that step-by-step guidance delivers one through from A to Z of any given process.

So. Should I be encouraged to hope that someone out there recognizes the absolute ignorance of the beginner? Or should I be crushed that my mother, having been gifted a laptop in August this year (although having no internet connection until early October) has garnered greater understanding of the technology in this short time than I have mustered? Am I to be forever in her shadow????? And is that what my life’s lesson is to be???

About xtrekki

OK - I've been doing this for almost a year now and have still not mastered the mysteries of blogging!! WHAT are widgets? What are tags? Where on the dashboard do I find them or an explanation of how I can get them to work for me? In other aspects of my life I am fairly sharp. I could certainly be advisor to Hercule Poirot in unraveling his most impenetrable of cases. So - why oh why can I not figure out how to manage this bloomin' blog???????
This entry was posted in Current affairs, Books, Bookclubs, Grey's Anatomy, Stella, Adventures with friends, Shoes, Food, Wine, Family. And everything in between!!!. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Learning for life…

  1. speccy says:

    Can you ask your mum where your last post went to?

    If you don’t just drag and drop the pics, then youtube is definitely the place to go. It was even meant to teach me how to do french plaits, but luckily Girl1 figured it out for herself before I got round to looking!

  2. xtrekki says:

    Oooohh – did I not manage to post it properly to the blog?? How dispiriting! I must phone Mother for some technical support!.

  3. kileen says:

    Yes last post vanished! And for photobooks, if your mum isn’t available for techie support, use photobox. Easiest of all. I did that first book on Jessops & it took me ages. Photobox was so simple in comparison.

    • scarlettruby says:

      So glad it wasn’t just me who had difficulty with the last post. i could read it in email but couldn’t find it on the web site. Thought I was developing xtrekki’s Luddite tendencies!
      Glad you’re posting again!!

  4. xtrekki says:

    I’ve tried again with Friday’s post. Hopefully it is now re-established. If not – then I must speak to Mother!

Looking forward to hearing from you...often!

