The Way of the World…


I was listening to radio 4 again yesterday. To ‘You and Yours’ – an investigative consumer magazine programme which is on daily at midday. Yesterday it was devoted to a discussion of one topic.

Internships.

A prelude to full-time employment.

Allegedly.

Bright young graduates giving their time and energy for free, every day, to a company in order to gain the experience which will give them the edge in the job-hunting stakes.

Except that these bright young graduates were reporting that they had been doing internships for 18 months, 2 years, and more, without even travel allowances. And were still not winning those prized basic entry level posts which would start them off on the path to long term success. Companies were looking for those with more relevant work experience than they had! Or just not taking on people for entry level jobs.

Could I suggest that this is because employers have found that they do not have to pay people to do the less skilled tasks?

And why would they offer salaries, when there appears to be an embarrassment of riches out there for the plucking, when the idea of getting free labour now has widespread government approval, when affluent parents are willing to subsidize their adult offspring into their late twenties????

Do these graduates not figure that, whilst they are willing to work for free, there’s not a company in the world which will offer them a paycheck?? Do they not think that, whilst they are willing to work for free they are, in fact, reducing the number of paid jobs?

I’m not naive enough to blame internships for blighting the employment prospects of less advantaged young people. But I certainly feel it is a particularly cynical government which promotes exploitation of young people in the name of ‘gaining experience’. Especially when the least privileged will be the ultimate losers.

As you can imagine, I had to show my deep displeasure and ridicule of the message by – yes – turning the radio off!!!!!! I hope the BBC noticed – that’ll show them I’m not to be messed with!!

Oh – by the way – the boarding passes are now printed out! In four more days we’ll  be on our way!!! (I just knew that you would be concerned that my current infirmity had made me lose my sense of perspective or – even worse – prevented me from travelling come Saturday!!)

About xtrekki

OK - I've been doing this for almost a year now and have still not mastered the mysteries of blogging!! WHAT are widgets? What are tags? Where on the dashboard do I find them or an explanation of how I can get them to work for me? In other aspects of my life I am fairly sharp. I could certainly be advisor to Hercule Poirot in unraveling his most impenetrable of cases. So - why oh why can I not figure out how to manage this bloomin' blog???????
This entry was posted in Current affairs, Books, Bookclubs, Grey's Anatomy, Stella, Adventures with friends, Shoes, Food, Wine, Family. And everything in between!!!. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Way of the World…

  1. speccy says:

    Oh, you have been busy with all the changes round here. And the note above isn’t in the least bit intimidating.
    I rarely listen to talky radio, because I shout back. That’s not good for my self image, or my voice.

    • scarlettruby says:

      Far too serious for me. You haven’t mentioned shoes or begs even once!! But I think this is further evidence of the ‘wimpishness’ you wrote about. Don’t like it? – Don’t watch/read/listen to it. Sometimes you just have to grin and bear it!! You’re a big girl now – really!!

  2. xtrekki says:

    I may have to change radio station soon. Al jezeera sounds more promising!!

  3. xtrekki says:

    I try to go against type sometimes! it can be a worthwhile venture to explore the realms beyond one’s own small corner, to raise a voice against the approaching storm. That doesn’t mean one has to don the raincoat/galoshes and wade through the onslaught: one can sit at the window and look out or baton down the hatches. Or simply turn off the radio!! But – I do certainly find it comes more naturally to consider shoe/bags/pretty things!!!

  4. I think people should pay what they are worth regardless of economy or age. Internships that extend for over long periods of time are exploitation.

Looking forward to hearing from you...often!

