Two Duchesses Equal a Double Duchess?


I still haven’t finished last month’s bookclub book – ‘The Last Duchess’. Not because I don’t like it (I sort of do) but because I have reached a point where there is going to be the most obvious fall out, where Cora is going to hit a very public humiliation, and I am too wimpy to even read about it!!I may have to just skip twenty pages, but my OCD gives me extreme difficulty with that course of action.

I find the same with TV programmes. When something becomes too excruciatingly humiliating or obvious, I find I have too leave the room. (Or, if I’m on my own already, I’ll switch channels)

As it happens we were watching ‘The Duchess’ on Sunday night but again, the suspense heightened my stress levels beyond bearing and I had to head to the laptop. Ostensibly to blog, but the computer was not co-operating and I lost all that I had so patiently written. I’m not only a wimp, but am easily discouraged! The ‘Duchess’ was approaching the end, so it was safe to return to the TV. I arrived back as the credits were running, which also informed that the duke, duchess and the lover lived in a menage a trois for twenty five years!! The children the Duke had with both women were part of this unconventional household.

Anyway. (That was just a little aside, and really a blog topic all of its own!) Ever since watching  the first half hour of ‘The Duchess’, I have had difficulty separating the Duchess of Devonshire from Duchess Cora. When I have been reading the bookclub book over the past couple of days (now that I’m off work, don’t you know) I have been envisaging Kiera Knightley as Cora. And Ivo is, of course, Ralph Fiennes.

It has been disconcerting. A sort of history has been inextricably entangled forever with pure fiction in my mind. Perhaps this is the way to interpret all  TV historical drama. Just as well we’re already on to the next book at bookclub – otherwise, who knows what I could have been discussing when the others were analysing character, plot, style! (As if!!!!)

So much room for misinterpretation!

About xtrekki

OK - I've been doing this for almost a year now and have still not mastered the mysteries of blogging!! WHAT are widgets? What are tags? Where on the dashboard do I find them or an explanation of how I can get them to work for me? In other aspects of my life I am fairly sharp. I could certainly be advisor to Hercule Poirot in unraveling his most impenetrable of cases. So - why oh why can I not figure out how to manage this bloomin' blog???????
This entry was posted in Current affairs, Books, Bookclubs, Grey's Anatomy, Stella, Adventures with friends, Shoes, Food, Wine, Family. And everything in between!!!. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Two Duchesses Equal a Double Duchess?

  1. kileen says:

    Keep reading. The public humiliation is mild, otherwise I would have skipped that bit too. Hate those cringey humiliating things. That’s why I never watched the Office. I was told it watch from behind the sofa tv. Enough said!

  2. I think Ralph Fiennes is the perfect daydream for any historical novel 😉

  3. xtrekki says:

    Kileen – you are nothing short of heroic in your efforts to reach the end of books! But I am now a wuss/wimp/whatever at psychosis level, needing more pro-active interventions than are available outside guantanamo bay! belleofthecarnival – you probably didn’t have the opportunity to watch ‘The Duchess’. Well – Ralph Fiennes was perfect as the Duke, as he would have been the absolutely perfect fit for Ivo (Cora’s Duke)!!. On the other hand – what role would Ralph Fiennes NOT be perfect in????

Looking forward to hearing from you...often!

