Happy Days???


OMG. It’s Wednesday. I’m at home! How divine, delightful, delicious – unintended! And only ten days left until we’re basking on a beach in the South of France, trawling the cafes along those mediterranean sea-fronts, drifting through enchanting street markets, relishing the classic recipe country cheeses, the vintage wines, the quintessentially French breads. I could get ahead of the game. Be ready to go. Laundering, ironing, packing the (very few) clothes necessary for such a trip (as if!!!) (And have you noticed how subtly I slipped in todays’ countdown???)

As it happens, I shall be starting/finishing none of these preparations. For as I’m sure you all realize, there’s no such thing as a free lunch. Whether large or small, there’s a cost to all good fortune. The level will be adjudged differently depending upon your perspective.

For myself – I count the cost I am paying to be quite high. Despite last week’s wish to be off work – preferably until after this fabled holiday – I had truly not planned for it to happen! Indeed, I am at a loss to understand how exactly it has happened.

Nevertheless. Here I am. On a Wednesday. Sitting at our dining room table, having time to blog. (Although, truly I should be completing work work!!). Ooooooohhhh – be careful what you wish for!!!

Because unfortunately I am unable to really do anything else. In excruciating pain lying down, standing up, walking. Indeed moving. Feeling deeply nauseous. Now – that is probably too much information for the more squeamish of you (it normally would be for me!!)

Some of my friends and reader(s) experience this on a regular/long-term/ongoing basis. They manage their lives according to what their pain levels allow them to do at any particular time. They daily activities are shaped by the demands and distresses of their (poor) health. They push the boundaries of their chronic/restrictive conditions.  They know what it means to be off work on a Wednesday.

For me, this is a new experience. I think of them. An injured back. Consuming pain. Short-term only (hopefully!) Two weeks off work. Followed by two weeks in the South of France (just in case you missed the earlier reference!). Like Pollyanna – things aren’t so bad for me!

About xtrekki

OK - I've been doing this for almost a year now and have still not mastered the mysteries of blogging!! WHAT are widgets? What are tags? Where on the dashboard do I find them or an explanation of how I can get them to work for me? In other aspects of my life I am fairly sharp. I could certainly be advisor to Hercule Poirot in unraveling his most impenetrable of cases. So - why oh why can I not figure out how to manage this bloomin' blog???????
This entry was posted in Current affairs, Books, Bookclubs, Grey's Anatomy, Stella, Adventures with friends, Shoes, Food, Wine, Family. And everything in between!!! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Days???

  1. speccy says:

    No! Don’t even think about working. You need a good rest before your 450th holiday of the year 😉

  2. xtrekki says:

    Ohh – did you notice that we were going away soon?? Was it something I said??

  3. kileen says:

    What? Who’s going away? Why does nobody ever tell me anything?

    • xtrekki says:

      Oh Gosh – had I forgotten to mention that to you, Kileen?? Well – I think it is now about 8 days until we head off to our heaven in the sun! My Guiding Light suggested that we reschedule, given my current indisposition!!! But I’m far too gallant to jeopardize another’s long-awaited holiday!!!

Looking forward to hearing from you...often!

