Still Trying…


I’ve just had a quick look at yesterday’s blog and discovered that one of the photos which I toiled so long to upload, has not appeared on the page. I’m becoming more disillusioned. I thought I had at least got the photo thing cracked! Clearly I need to practice.

So – what to show pics from??? A family birthday –  lots of pics of birthday cakes, candles alight?? Pics of people gathered round our kitchen table eating/drinking?? Pics of babies smiling/crying/eating/being??

Pics of holidays – again, lots of pics of people eating/smiling/drinking/being??

Seascapes? Millions of those – a lifetime holiday travelogue with significant local influences!

Would you like to see some pics of spectacular sunsets throughout the world (as witnessed by myself, so clearly limited to those countries I have both visited and carried a working camera to!)

Or – my personal favourite – pics of dazzling glory (although, since I say this myself, you may find yourselves at odds with the opinion!!!) – utterly captivating glimpses of things people get up to!!!

Anyway. Here goes. I’m going to try again. After all, this is already designated a pop/video/music-free zone on account of the limitations of the interface between myself and technology! But how difficult can it be to scatter just a few, lonely, tuneless, random, photos, as a planned/regular exercise???? (If the matrix kidnaps me during the commissioning of this blog, dragging me into that twilight zone of e-reality from whence I  fail to make further contact with the outside world (ie – follow up these insignificant ramblings) over the next couple of weeks, could you please notify my next of kin????)

PS – My next of kin is looking forward to hearing from you in the near future. As, indeed am I. That is, so long as the comments about the photos remain complimentary! Otherwise – I don’t look forward to hearing from you at all – all this drivel about constructive criticism!!! How have you ever felt when someone was dishing out constructive criticism to you???? See??? It’s just not constructive – its only criticism (no matter how lovingly stated!!!) Anyway – here goes:

The one you should have got yesterday!

'...Give Me sunshine...'

And – ok – you’ll have to believe me – this last photo looks much better cropped. And although I have cropped it approximately twenty three times to paste into this posting, somehow or other it steadfastly retains it’s original form on arrival on the page!!! Which was not as I would have wished!!! Anyway  – it gives a slight flavour of the dress code of yesterdays’ event – ie – shades were de rigeur or, indeed, expected by the fashionistas!! Shoes were uncomfortable and chairs were- as you can see – not for sitting upon!

Anything else you need to know about the weekend?

Oh yes – on Saturday the four week count down to the South of France began!!! Yipppeeee!!!!

( And having scrolled up to the top and read down through the blog again – I realize that I’ve lost one of the three pics I have just posted!!!. Truly, I have lost the will to live!! This has got to have been my last attempt at photographs!! Two hours – two pics!! Send me your addresses and I will call at your homes to show you the photos. It will take me less time!!)

About xtrekki

OK - I've been doing this for almost a year now and have still not mastered the mysteries of blogging!! WHAT are widgets? What are tags? Where on the dashboard do I find them or an explanation of how I can get them to work for me? In other aspects of my life I am fairly sharp. I could certainly be advisor to Hercule Poirot in unraveling his most impenetrable of cases. So - why oh why can I not figure out how to manage this bloomin' blog???????
This entry was posted in Current affairs, Books, Bookclubs, Grey's Anatomy, Stella, Adventures with friends, Shoes, Food, Wine, Family. And everything in between!!! and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Still Trying…

  1. kileen says:

    Very glamorous christening party. Shoes may have been allegedly uncomfortable but they were fabulous. I would expect nothing less. However I have some constructive criticism. The photo I really really really wanted to see is missing. And if you’re starting another holiday countdown so soon after the last holiday countdown when I have no holiday to look forward to, I’m going to be very upset….

  2. xtrekki says:

    Aaaahhhh but your holidays are so verrrrryy glamorous!!! And as for the photoo you wanted to see being missing – as I say – I’ll go round and show it to you. That would be a much better use of my time!! PS – I’m not surprized you really really really wanted to see it – it was quite spectacular. Well – I thought so!!!!

  3. Patti says:

    Don’t give up! The pictures that made it look great.

  4. xtrekki says:

    Patti – it was sooo delightful of you to compliment the photos. Now I just might have to try again! (Although I feel that my true skills must surely lie elsewhere!!)

Looking forward to hearing from you...often!

