Another weekend…. at last!


Well. It’s finally Friday!

It has been a long, long week and I note that a couple of my blogs this week have given long,  sober and verbose consideration to world affairs (or at least, national affairs) and were as close as I could muster to philosophical discussion of said events. They have probably painted me as the prototypical Alf Garnett, venting the hackneyed theories and sentiments of the baby boomers, but there you are – I was horrified by the pictures I saw on TV and by the blatancy/mindlessness/randomness/violence of the whole thing.

Anyway. It’s late. At this point I am beyond acknowledging a world outside my window.

So my thoughts tonight are far more parochial – even homely! Or there again – maybe absent would describe them better!

I’m at home, winding down (ie – having a little glass of wind-down liquid) – preparing for another action packed weekend. Ms Glamorous Shoes is childminding without me (I had to stop for a doze on the way home, so she felt I would be a liability in the greater task of looking after a four year old and a nine month old!!!)

To come this weekend?? Well the fundraising campaign continues unabated. All the joys and excitement of bag packing this time. Followed by the evening celebration of a wedding. And then a Sunday devoted to our long awaited Christening event (although, at this point – Friday night – we have not yet been given details of the timing of this happy family gathering!!)

Clearly we are on a tight schedule throughout the whole weekend. Little time to finish the bookclub book. Little time to complete written work which is building fearsomely up. Little time to do all the tasks which have been impossible to fit in during the week. Little time, again, to do that dash of housework which makes a home welcoming. Not that every excuse isn’t already used to evade this last!

By Monday I’ll be glad to return to work to get a rest!!

PS – just a quick photo to whet your appetite for the deluge of pics from the weekend…..

A seaside town I know well

Absolutely nothing to do with the activities of the forthcoming weekend, but don’t you think it’s a pretty picture???

About xtrekki

OK - I've been doing this for almost a year now and have still not mastered the mysteries of blogging!! WHAT are widgets? What are tags? Where on the dashboard do I find them or an explanation of how I can get them to work for me? In other aspects of my life I am fairly sharp. I could certainly be advisor to Hercule Poirot in unraveling his most impenetrable of cases. So - why oh why can I not figure out how to manage this bloomin' blog???????
This entry was posted in Current affairs, Books, Bookclubs, Grey's Anatomy, Stella, Adventures with friends, Shoes, Food, Wine, Family. And everything in between!!! and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another weekend…. at last!

  1. kileen says:

    Very pretty picture. Restful & evocative. Tell me more about the wind-down liquid. Do you take your hot choc / horlicks / ovaltine in a glass then? The pace of fundraising & scheduled training alluded to in other posts is scaring me. I must get up from the sofa and do stuff. Still. at least I’ve finished the bookclub book. I’ve done something.

  2. xtrekki says:

    Well, we attended said Christening event this morning. Where, from the sermon preached, I realized that what was missing from my life was the time to.’….be still and know…’ From which I have recognized the need to cut down on all the extraneously busy things and concentrate on reading bookclub books!!!

Looking forward to hearing from you...often!

