Yesterdays’ news…


I’m a member of a bookclub: which means that, when I have time to read, it is my duty to read the set text of the month before embarking on extraneous reading: before catching up on newspapers, glam mags, books of more immediate appeal to me, etc. You will have noticed, I’m sure, that I’m a little anal in that way.

Thus it was that I was reading the Sunday Times (31st July) this morning (Thursday 4th Aug). That is – belatedly. (And aren’t you sooooo impressed that we had this weekends’ Sunday Times lying around the house???! Although, to be honest, it wasn’t bought by anyone in this address and, indeed, I am at a loss to know where exactly it came from!!)

Anyway. To skip over the identity of our benefactor. I was reading this gift as I sat, alone, at breakfast this morning. (Sad, lonely, isolated – what else should I do but read a four-day old newspaper??) Anyway – I very belatedly came across pages of reports of the wedding of Zara Phillips and Mike Tindall!!

Well – to start with – I was a bit irked that we had not had a public holiday to allow us to celebrate the grand event with the happy couple!

But I was easily distracted by the entertainment offered by critique of the guests’ headgear! The newest member of the Royal clan, for example, chose something D’Artagnan would have been proud of. Princess Beatrice (or was it Eugenie???) had a satellite dish on her head. Amy Williams (bob sleigher) thought she was joining the audience of The Good Old Days. And Camilla. What’s to say about her choice of hats??? clearly she has been told the flowerpot is at the cutting edge. (Although, apart from that, her outfit was tasteful for an elderly aunt of the bride).

Then the quick look (after all, this was breakfast – really very little time to stop and stare) at some of the rest of the outfits.

Jackie Stewarts’ tartan socks surely hit an all time low, even for Scottish national dress?  Although they were certainly just about matched by the charity shop ensemble Princess Anne had managed to root out for herself! Now, history has shown us that we shouldn’t expect Princess Anne to magic herself into Angelina Jolie. But, as mother of the bride – and therefore in a leading (well, to be honest – secondary)  role, one might have expected that she would have been given much clearer instruction on appropriate dress for the occasion.

Still. She looked as happy as she ever looks. Bless. She has had a lot to contend with. Has probably been living on her nerves for the past fifteen years, afraid that Zara would never marry her man, and would live in sin just to be a rebel.

And what a rebel. No cathedral wedding. No red carpet. No gathering on Buck House balcony.

Well – maybe Zara Phillips (for she is keeping her maiden name in order to maintain her sporting identity) is indeed of a new order of Royals. Maybe she is indeed a bridge between diverse worlds, bringing a further touch of reality to a family rather sheltered from the vicissitudes of everyday life.

What is clear is that she was brave enough to have a mad mix of people at a wedding her grandmother was going to be at! I’m not sure that I would have been so resolute!!!

About xtrekki

OK - I've been doing this for almost a year now and have still not mastered the mysteries of blogging!! WHAT are widgets? What are tags? Where on the dashboard do I find them or an explanation of how I can get them to work for me? In other aspects of my life I am fairly sharp. I could certainly be advisor to Hercule Poirot in unraveling his most impenetrable of cases. So - why oh why can I not figure out how to manage this bloomin' blog???????
This entry was posted in Current affairs, Books, Bookclubs, Grey's Anatomy, Stella, Adventures with friends, Shoes, Food, Wine, Family. And everything in between!!! and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yesterdays’ news…

  1. kileen says:

    Very brave to have a beaten up looking best man sporting a black eye after the family (Princess Anne) had allegedly pressurised the groom to have his broken nose repaired pre wedding -just so the photos would look good.

  2. xtrekki says:

    As I say – a true rebel! Refusing Mothers’ advice to the very end! Now that she’ll have viewed some of the photos, I bet she wishes she had insisted that all the rugby guests had had some cosmetic surgery! On the other hand – sure they’ve lovely personalities!

Looking forward to hearing from you...often!

