The Shape of Weekends to come!


Although those of you who know me may not instantly recognize me as an athlete, I have nevertheless agreed to join, again, with a bunch of extreme walkers (wonderful, wacky, women all of them), to trek the highways and paddy fields of Cambodia for Marie Curie hospice fund in October 2012. And recently, in preparation for the great event, I donned my (new) trainers  – remember I got those sometime in April?? – and went for a thirty minute stroll along the towpath. So. Clearly my training is well underway.

And this weekend my contribution to that other essential aspect of the project was launched – the fundraising. Although others of our team have already been taking every opportunity to raise the profile of their efforts and cause, I’m ashamed to say my efforts to date have been pale in comparison.

But today. Well. All that changed. For today we took the world of the car boot sale by storm!!! There we were, Sultanas of the Souk, queens of six square feet of the previously loved, previously read, previously worn. And we came into our own.( I’m thinking of taking this up as my full time job.) Reminding people this is a charity stall and no, they were not going to get that Burberry shirt for £1.50. Well – all in a day’s work, don’t you think – and it’s good, once in a while, to be able to say to people ‘catch yourself on – I don’t even want to sell that!!!’

So anyway – we made a respectable sum, thanks to the generous folk around our neck of the woods. And had a very pleasant day, into the bargain. What’s more – we didn’t buy a single thing from another stall (other than sustaining burgers)!!! So – all in all a successful day. Not even a trace of sunburn, despite the clement weather.

Nevertheless, having made the profit, and managed not to spend anything on tat (oh, sorry, previously loved items) from other stalls, we have returned home to look online: and have already bought the clothes hanging rails for the next series of sales. Looks like this is how we will be spending our weekends for the foreseeable future!

And – now you all know about our hobby cum quest – can we expect a sudden rush to our stall over future weeks from all you interested and interesting bloggers??? I hope so!!!

About xtrekki

OK - I've been doing this for almost a year now and have still not mastered the mysteries of blogging!! WHAT are widgets? What are tags? Where on the dashboard do I find them or an explanation of how I can get them to work for me? In other aspects of my life I am fairly sharp. I could certainly be advisor to Hercule Poirot in unraveling his most impenetrable of cases. So - why oh why can I not figure out how to manage this bloomin' blog???????
This entry was posted in Current affairs, Books, Bookclubs, Grey's Anatomy, Stella, Adventures with friends, Shoes, Food, Wine, Family. And everything in between!!! and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Shape of Weekends to come!

  1. kileen says:

    Training & fundraising already! You are a role model to us all.

  2. xtrekki says:

    Well – you know how I like to be in front ot the crowd! As for the training – really it’s very easy you know, and so healthy!! I might even go for another walk/stroll!!

  3. speccy says:

    You should keep a wee calendar on the blog, telling us where you’ll be selling next. No, I have no idea how to do that.
    Will you be welcoming donations? You could be the regular recipients of our ‘charity shop’ bundle…
    On the other hand, it may be total tat 🙂

  4. xtrekki says:

    Well – now we’re signed up to the Belfast Souk (Rosemary Street, having previously been in the Ulster Hall and, after that, the Europa). Which means every other weekend we could be doing something. And the times in between we could be doing the regular car boot sales! I think, by the time the Cambosia trip happens, I’ll just head off on my own to a monastic retreat for the week instead!!!

Looking forward to hearing from you...often!

