One summers’ day


Everywhere I looked this summer (ie – Saturday past) there were summer fairs exuding fun and good humour. Local schools and churches, schools and churches in the vicinity of work, schools and churches peppering my daily commute. All seemed to have realized that Saturday 3rd June was designated as Northern Ireland’s annual sunny day. Clearly a day to be capitalized upon.

And, well, I joined in the happiness. I attended a school fair. And a rather spectacular event it was too, set in lush landscaped grounds with two huge bouncy castles (one for the small children, one for the ‘senior’ – primary – pupils) a scattering of burger/candy floss/doughnut/tuck shop stalls, emergency services stands allowing children to climb over expensive rescue equipment, side show competitions with prizes, and on and on. All this outside. Then inside – the book stalls, new and second hand, the toy stalls, cake stalls, hand craft stalls. The craft making for the children, the face painting. And much much more.

And – apart from our own little relative guy enjoying himself, finding friends from nursery, bouncing bouncing bouncing himself to a light head, I had my very own highlight from the day…

Yes – I won a prize!!!! Granted it will not take me on a two week luxury holiday to Sri Lanka nor even a kitchen makeover, but I am easily thrilled and am absolutely exultant that, at last, it has been me to win that elusive trip up to the winners rostrum. (Although, in truth, I sent my representative here on earth to collect my winnings for me).

And today's prize is.....

Not only that, but I remained chilled and implacably good humoured for the remainder of the day. See how a one off win can so easily transform one’s perception of the world!!!

Oohh- I think I’ve forgotten to mention what my prize was. I won four tickets to the Movie House cinema. (This counts as high excitement in my book!!!)

The organizers didn’t even need to buy their way into my heart. The offer of a sale/market to wander round would certainly have been sufficient. I’m as shallow as the child is serious/perspicatious and am only too willing to scour the earth for things I don’t need.

But I’m glad they don’t know that much about me yet.

After all, they may then stop trying to amuse and I still have years of this schools’ summer fairs to go!!

About xtrekki

OK - I've been doing this for almost a year now and have still not mastered the mysteries of blogging!! WHAT are widgets? What are tags? Where on the dashboard do I find them or an explanation of how I can get them to work for me? In other aspects of my life I am fairly sharp. I could certainly be advisor to Hercule Poirot in unraveling his most impenetrable of cases. So - why oh why can I not figure out how to manage this bloomin' blog???????
This entry was posted in Current affairs, Books, Bookclubs, Grey's Anatomy, Stella, Adventures with friends, Shoes, Food, Wine, Family. And everything in between!!! and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One summers’ day

  1. speccy says:

    Will you end up with one of those fetching PTA uniform type tshirts?

  2. kileen says:

    I thought you’d won hordes of goldfish!! Cinema tickets – much better.

Looking forward to hearing from you...often!

