The Discovery


I was going to do a blog about that match. The Champions League final (or, for the unreconstructed, the UEFA Cup final) between Barcelona and Manchester United. Saturday night, BBC1. Prime time TV. (For those of you who missed it – like myself!)

I wanted to drool about scintillating tactics, the sheer poetry of the goals. The stunning athleticism of that field full of adonis physiqued young men. Against the background of the shenanigans and scandals engulfing the world of FIFA and its’ chiefs of staff. The nobility of the game versus the corruption of its management.

I pondered for two minutes. I puzzled. I scratched my head. Then realized – soooooo boring a topic could never sparkle, lift off the page, grasp the imagination. I decided the time would be better spent building mud pies in the rain. Far more inspiring and satisfying than football. (Although David Beckham is soooooo cute!!) An attitude I would have bet reflected that of our household. (Apart from the David bit. IT Expert doesn’t quite get the David glow!!)

Imagine our disbelief then: our very own London Lass, who last week, in Northern Ireland, couldn’t have described the beautiful game to you, spent a cold and blustery Saturday afternoon, watching the football in Hyde Park (on a big screen?? In real life?? For fun?? Who knows!?)

Well. Just goes to show – it takes a person to be away from home for their real selves to be outed!! Ain’t life strange??

What will be revealed next? The inner Elvis? The reincarnated spirit of Pocahontas? Will the real London Lass please step forward!!!!

About xtrekki

OK - I've been doing this for almost a year now and have still not mastered the mysteries of blogging!! WHAT are widgets? What are tags? Where on the dashboard do I find them or an explanation of how I can get them to work for me? In other aspects of my life I am fairly sharp. I could certainly be advisor to Hercule Poirot in unraveling his most impenetrable of cases. So - why oh why can I not figure out how to manage this bloomin' blog???????
This entry was posted in Current affairs, Books, Bookclubs, Grey's Anatomy, Stella, Adventures with friends, Shoes, Food, Wine, Family. And everything in between!!! and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Discovery

  1. speccy says:

    I’m assuming she was there with a crowd, ‘bonding’, and had a sore head the next day 🙂 Good match tho’.

  2. Patti says:

    I wasn’t actually aware of the match ahead of time, but I did see part of it – when we were shopping at a furniture store (Saturday morning for us). The store had a huge TV screen in the showroom and the match was showing. There were a handful of people seated comfortably in recliners watching it – I was standing in front of them as I was shopping and noticed them standing and craning their necks to see around me. It almost looked like they had made a trip to the store just to watch the game. It made my husband and I think we were going about planning entertainments for our guests all wrong – next time there’s something worth watching with a group, maybe we’ll just meet at Living Spaces.

    • speccy says:

      what an excellent idea! The shop will probably have side tables and bowls for the crisps too!

  3. xtrekki says:

    But there is always the problem of those unattached shoppers/sightseers – inadvertently blocking the action. Perhaps the shop should rope a section off for the serious viewers?

Looking forward to hearing from you...often!

