Here comes summer…


Well the weather may not have given any clue to the season, nevertheless we can easily tell that summer time is here. We have the Chelsea Flower Show this week – the ultimate in inspirational/aspirational homecraft lifestyle modelling – then next week we have the Hay Book  Festival (the intellectual equivalent of the Chelsea Flower Show). The next week we have the Stella Artois – lead up to the defining festival of summer – yes  – Wimbledon.

I love to watch each of these events. They make me feel summery. I don’t ever visit a garden centre. I only know the names of the most common of flowers. Weeds usually populate my garden although occasionally I feel moved to throw weedkiller around willy-nilly.

As for books – I am, of course, an avid bookclub member (this is mainly for Speccy’s approval!!!!)! To be honest – I really do love reading although I get less time to do it than I would choose – and I have even been to a number of book readings by published authors over the years. At some stage I would love to get to Hay at book festival time. To wander, explore, listen to readings….

As for tennis – well – I can’t see the ball as it flies past me and would certainly not have the energy to chase it even if I could see it.

The Stella Artois? Well it would be great to see a top class, hardcore (I’m talking surface here!!!) event. But … the prize would certainly be to get to the event of the year (for a non football fan!!!)

For there really is no competition here – is there? Wimbledon just has such allure, such magic, such performances.

Maybe sometime, when I become more deeply involved in the world of corporate entertaining I will be swanning around in a celebrity box, being fed strawberries, cream and champagne on tap.

Until then – I am easily satisfied. I enjoy watching these events on TV. As I tell myself – I probably get a much better view of the action from my own living room than having to stand in the cold, behind crowds of people, barely able to catch a glimpse of the flower/author/player.

And – the other thing – gridlocked traffic (the story of Belfast rush hour traffic tonight) holds no alarm. All these events are available on iplayer, or are repeated later in the evening. So – no worries about missing out on summer!

 

About xtrekki

OK - I've been doing this for almost a year now and have still not mastered the mysteries of blogging!! WHAT are widgets? What are tags? Where on the dashboard do I find them or an explanation of how I can get them to work for me? In other aspects of my life I am fairly sharp. I could certainly be advisor to Hercule Poirot in unraveling his most impenetrable of cases. So - why oh why can I not figure out how to manage this bloomin' blog???????
This entry was posted in Current affairs, Books, Bookclubs, Grey's Anatomy, Stella, Adventures with friends, Shoes, Food, Wine, Family. And everything in between!!! and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Looking forward to hearing from you...often!

