Highway 61 revisited


“Hi – it’s Bob’s birthday today”
 
“Gee – is it that time of year again?? “
 
“What age did you say he is now?”
 
“Oooohhh – I don’t belieeeeevve you!!! 70?????? Do you remember when……….????”

OooooooooooooMG = I had pictures of Bob over all my books  and his name in felt tips on my ring binders when I was doing my GCE’s (note: not GCSE’s!!!!)

You just had to know all the words to Subterranean Homesick Blues if you wanted to have any credibility in my fourth/fifth form. Highway 61 thudded out from the record player as I studied (???) for exams and I hummed Like a Rolling Stone as I walked to school.

He was the icon of my youth. I had just missed the era of James Dean. Bob Dylan was our angry young man. Awakening the conscience of our generation. The voice of Protest, calling upon us to question what world leaders were doing in our name and where society was going. Challenging young people to take a stand for new values. Defining a new era of youth culture, grunge, idealism. Offering the music and language of a thousand marches worldwide.

Oooohhh. Days of my youth……. Heady, happy days of CND, Reclaim the Night and every other leftist gathering at Belfast City Hall and environs. All inspired by soul scorching, plaintive, rugged,  harmonica accompanied poetry, demanding that we change the world!!

So – How can he possibly be 70???????????

I guess it just sort of creeps up on you. And me. (Although – can I assure all of you, even though you may not believe me – I AM YOUNGER than Bob!!!)

So – all there is left to say is – Happy Birthday Bob – and thanks for the memories!!!!

About xtrekki

OK - I've been doing this for almost a year now and have still not mastered the mysteries of blogging!! WHAT are widgets? What are tags? Where on the dashboard do I find them or an explanation of how I can get them to work for me? In other aspects of my life I am fairly sharp. I could certainly be advisor to Hercule Poirot in unraveling his most impenetrable of cases. So - why oh why can I not figure out how to manage this bloomin' blog???????
This entry was posted in Current affairs, Books, Bookclubs, Grey's Anatomy, Stella, Adventures with friends, Shoes, Food, Wine, Family. And everything in between!!! and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Highway 61 revisited

  1. speccy says:

    My exam books were adorned with Ultravox and U2, nowhere near as credible as you! It took me some time to discover Bob’s genius for myself, but even I feel that ’70’ is for old people, and Bob, no matter what his age, is not old

  2. blackwatertown says:

    I remember the CND office on May Street. Used to hang out there. It wasn’t very secure. Someone broke in once with a spoon. Must have been disappointing for them to find a load of posters etc.
    And the tiny peace camp at Bishopscourt RAF base was the only one in the UK to actually pay rates. Very law abiding – and friendly – little camp it was.

    • speccy says:

      A spoon? Blackwatertown, I’m about to go to a funeral and you’re telling me about breaking in with a spoon? I’ll blame you if I laugh inappropriately!

  3. kileen says:

    I was a Bay City Rollers girl myself. I’m aware now this means I have no credibity.

Looking forward to hearing from you...often!

