Sunday Shopping


OK. I’m going out shopping now. It’s not that that is how I woulld choose to spend Sunday afternoon, but otherwise there’ll be nothing for us to eat tomorrow. Or, indeed, tonight.

I always intend to do the on-line grocery shopping thing, but somehow, my fabled luddite streak has militated against that. Athough on occasion I have devoted much time and effort to activating a Tesco and M+S account, such attempts have been abandoned in frustration/failure/disillusionment/technology distrust/suicidal ideation (well – maybe the last is slightly overstating it, but you get the picture!!)

On the other hand. I have so much more I should be doing today. Workish sorts of things. Which really need done and have very tangible deadlines. I worry about them. They keep me awake at night. They appear insurmountable.

And – bearing in mind that (as you may have read) I was out and about yesterday and could clearly have managed to pop into somewhere to buy a loaf of bread and a bag of spuds – do you reckon there may be just a smidgen of the ol’ denial thing going on? Of putting off the evil moment when I actually sit down to do what needs doing??

I have felt over the years that I work best when I’m under pressure, back to the wall, needing to pull something out of the bag. When I’m forced to finally just get it done.

But – how would I know???? I never give myself the chance to do things at my leisure!!

Is there a term for that?? A syndrome?? Is it about being frightened to death by the task ahead? Or is it just about being bone idle!!

About xtrekki

OK - I've been doing this for almost a year now and have still not mastered the mysteries of blogging!! WHAT are widgets? What are tags? Where on the dashboard do I find them or an explanation of how I can get them to work for me? In other aspects of my life I am fairly sharp. I could certainly be advisor to Hercule Poirot in unraveling his most impenetrable of cases. So - why oh why can I not figure out how to manage this bloomin' blog???????
This entry was posted in Current affairs, Books, Bookclubs, Grey's Anatomy, Stella, Adventures with friends, Shoes, Food, Wine, Family. And everything in between!!! and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sunday Shopping

  1. kileen says:

    I’m with you in this. The fitting in of the grocery shopping when there might have been a window somewhere else. Everything turns into a race against time. I

Looking forward to hearing from you...often!

