Where was that again????


Azerbaijan. Well well well. Who would have thought it?? Birthplace of Rostopovic and Gary Kasparov and now the epicentre of world popular music!! An ancient culture reignited. An historic acknowledgement of the supreme artistry at the root of this effervescent, re-emerging society.

Or there again – where exactly is Azerbaijan?? Doesn’t Harry Potter live near there?? Is that East or West? Does Starbucks or MacDonalds have outlets there? What is the shoe shopping like?????

And – what of Blue and Jedward?

Ohhh – we had such high hopes of them this time!!

Watching the high-jinks of John and Edward some weeks beforehand – one of them (you will know that they are indistinguishable) careering around willy-nilly despite his bad leg. Both of them giving such high octane (if utterly tuneless) performances. Made you will them on to win, such was their enthusiasm, innocence and charisma!

And Blue. Another group beaten before they start by their name.

But now they all have an example to follow. The template has been drawn for them.

We can expect a local victory next year, I would imagine. They have Azerbaijan to follow, to learn from, to seek tutorials, to fall at the feet of!!

Roll on next year’s Eurovision.

About xtrekki

OK - I've been doing this for almost a year now and have still not mastered the mysteries of blogging!! WHAT are widgets? What are tags? Where on the dashboard do I find them or an explanation of how I can get them to work for me? In other aspects of my life I am fairly sharp. I could certainly be advisor to Hercule Poirot in unraveling his most impenetrable of cases. So - why oh why can I not figure out how to manage this bloomin' blog???????
This entry was posted in Current affairs, Books, Bookclubs, Grey's Anatomy, Stella, Adventures with friends, Shoes, Food, Wine, Family. And everything in between!!! and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Where was that again????

  1. speccy says:

    How can you not have actually been to Azerbaijan? I thought you’d been everywhere?

  2. xtrekki says:

    As a person in the vanguard of youth culture and global trends I will naturally be heading there for next year’s musical extravaganza!! Presumably you’ll be joining me, as I know you have girls in love with Jedward???!!! They’d be so impressed!

    • speccy says:

      Oh god, they would! I can only hope that Jedward will be very passé by then… (look, I’ve learned how to do an accent- is there no end to my talent?)

Looking forward to hearing from you...often!

