The Carnival is Over…


Well, I suppose it had to happen. The most eagerly awaited holiday in history has now been and gone!!! It was fun while it lasted, but, like all things, it hath passed away.

And what a re-awakening! Not for us the gentle re-introduction to daily life (ie – a day or two at home before returning, reluctantly, to work). No – we from the coast of Down are hardier than that. We opt for the sudden, total immersion. Home yesterday evening, back to work for nine this morning Home, seven o’clock. All very Calvinist, don’t you think???? No gentle easing oneself  back into the swing of things, just guilt that so much has been mounting up over that (short) period away from the coal face. 

And yet there is a trace of smugness – or is it some sort of affirmation?? I do seem to have been missed!! Perhaps only in that there has been no handy scapegoat for the past few days, but in a twisted sort of way there is satisfaction that at least it would take more energy than is easily accessible to train someone to take over from me!

That is to say – importing monkeys has become philosophically/legally/financially less defensible over the past few years and teaching the old, available, monkeys new tricks is on a par with trying to retrain old dogs.

Which brings me to another topic – my training regime has actually taken a major step forward. Unexpectedly (and, naturally, reluctantly,) I have had recent experience of the very strenuous and energy intensive activity of wheelchair chief of staff cum skivvy. Although probably a worthwhile use of my (youthful!!) enthusiasm/vigour, it was also a unwanted reminder of the preparations which need to precede the planned return to active heavy duty walking pursuits.

Oh it reminds me toooooo painfully of fitness, once so hard earned, now squandered, and the path I need to hoe to reprise that baseline. (Actually, at one point, during my stint as pusher of the kings’ wheelchair, I felt as if my chest was about to implode and I would probably dissolve into anti-matter seeping through the earths’ crust. Or does that sound too dramatic for just having an asthma attack????) 

Whatever. It demonstrated that additional training is needed for ordinary life, let alone any major life/fitness challenge. So – anyone for a saunter along the towpath some evening this week?? Time is of the essence – I have a very short memory span and will probably forget within two days (!) that I thought it a good idea to go walking. So – think on your feet – get your answers in quickly!!!

About xtrekki

OK - I've been doing this for almost a year now and have still not mastered the mysteries of blogging!! WHAT are widgets? What are tags? Where on the dashboard do I find them or an explanation of how I can get them to work for me? In other aspects of my life I am fairly sharp. I could certainly be advisor to Hercule Poirot in unraveling his most impenetrable of cases. So - why oh why can I not figure out how to manage this bloomin' blog???????
This entry was posted in Current affairs, Books, Bookclubs, Grey's Anatomy, Stella, Adventures with friends, Shoes, Food, Wine, Family. And everything in between!!! and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Carnival is Over…

  1. kileen says:

    Well, yes of course, I’ll go for a walk this week. Oh no! I can’t! I’ll be on holiday…

  2. xtrekki says:

    Holiday??? Are you going somewhere???

Looking forward to hearing from you...often!

