Forsaking all others…


Tomorrow night I will be going to the evening reception of a friend’s wedding. Probably not much of an announcement to most folk and really a very unremarkable event to be bringing to readers’ (??) attention.

To me, however, it represents a very big deal. Why?? Well, because it is a mid-week event. Most people would prepare for such an auspicious occasion (at least, for the happy couple) by expending much time and energy choosing appropriately festive garb. My attention has been sharply focused on accessing tabs to eat to ensure that, despite a sleep deficit, I wake up in time for the nine o’clock meeting on Thursday!!

Perhaps not the fulsome/wholehearted expression of joy I should be taking with me to the banquet. This, after all, is a friend, and I wish her every happiness in her choice of life partner (or at least, her current choice!!)

But really – don’t you think there’s some responsibility on the happy couple to plan with a little more thought for the guests??? Or – do you think that’s exactly what they were doing?? Perhaps they wanted to make sure people didn’t hang around all night??

And then again – what to wear?? After all, it is only May. I realise that the weather has been ok recently, but it gets very cold at night. Those of us who are not swaddled in new found love get cold very quickly! Does that mean swapping the recently excavated sandals for the security of the familiar cuddly ol’ boots?

Yes – I am a hothouse flower. Almost ‘on the spectrum’ so far as routine is concerned. Certainly not a roustabout – rather a wannabee party-goer. ‘Cause you can see that when the opportunity is offered to me to celebrate, I panic, I make excuses, and suddenly I’m not comfortable doing that sociability thing.

You would hardly guess that, when this happy couple announced their engagement, I was the person who was very vocal about ensuring an invitation to the evening event was forthcoming!!!

About xtrekki

OK - I've been doing this for almost a year now and have still not mastered the mysteries of blogging!! WHAT are widgets? What are tags? Where on the dashboard do I find them or an explanation of how I can get them to work for me? In other aspects of my life I am fairly sharp. I could certainly be advisor to Hercule Poirot in unraveling his most impenetrable of cases. So - why oh why can I not figure out how to manage this bloomin' blog???????
This entry was posted in Current affairs, Books, Bookclubs, Grey's Anatomy, Stella, Adventures with friends, Shoes, Food, Wine, Family. And everything in between!!! and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Forsaking all others…

  1. speccy says:

    Oh, I am so like that at times. I’m all sociable and full of plans, and then I get overwhelmed with all that I’d need to do- get a babysitter, get washed, stay awake- that nothing happens. This week I didn’t go to a wine tasting. Next week I’ll probably not go to a concert. Luckily, is bookclub is part of the routine now so I can just about mnanage that most of the time 🙂

Looking forward to hearing from you...often!

