Just the Ticket


I don’t want to bore anyone, but – the travel agent phoned me three minutes ago to tell me ………my tickets are awaiting collection!!!!!!! OMG!! – We are actually going in five days!!!!! I am so excited!!! (Or had you figured that out already!!)

Now – some people may not think that a holiday in Spain with your folks would represent the absolute nirvana of adventure breaks. Some may even think that the venture sounds decidedly sedate. And I would agree that we are probably not straying too far from our comfort zone so far as luxury and activity are concerned.

But, like Emilio Estevez and Martin Sheen on their journey, this is simultaneously a sort of opportunity to travel a route of relationship rediscovery and renewal. Or does that sound far too pompous?? It probably doesn’t entirely represent the current (good) state of understanding with the folks, but it certainly hints at the frisson of anxiety underlying any journey with them.

But there’s much to be excited about even if our resort does not rate high on the list of challenging holiday destinations.

I’m so thrilled to be able to choose whether to get up before nine or to slob until ten. I’m ecstatic to be having all my food prepared for me, ready and waiting when I want to eat it. I will have time to read!!!!

All simple pleasures which, together, are the bedrock of fulfilment and relaxation. Is it any wonder I’ve been counting down the days until it all begins????

About xtrekki

OK - I've been doing this for almost a year now and have still not mastered the mysteries of blogging!! WHAT are widgets? What are tags? Where on the dashboard do I find them or an explanation of how I can get them to work for me? In other aspects of my life I am fairly sharp. I could certainly be advisor to Hercule Poirot in unraveling his most impenetrable of cases. So - why oh why can I not figure out how to manage this bloomin' blog???????
This entry was posted in Current affairs, Books, Bookclubs, Grey's Anatomy, Stella, Adventures with friends, Shoes, Food, Wine, Family. And everything in between!!! and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just the Ticket

  1. speccy says:

    As long as you don’t turn into Charlie Sheen , all will be good. Enjoy- you’re more than ready for it 🙂

Looking forward to hearing from you...often!

