How others see us


I haven’t been doing this blogging thing for very long, as you may know, but when I started, I sort of saw myself as a fledgling Jane Austin. An unobtrusive observer of life. You know – telling  stories of society and the manners/mores imprisoning it. Speaking as other people, about other people. A narrator of a world inhabited but detached from. An Everyman.

It was disconcerting then – nay shocking! – to meet up with friends and more experienced bloggers and be told that I had failed entirely to hit that spot!!! Apparently I write exactly as I speak!!!!! So much for donning a separate persona!! Blogging would appear to be much more complicated than I had imagined. Writing obviously requires greater thought. Less use of the personal pronoun. Shorter sentences? Longer sentences? More dialogue? More description? Less description? More profound issues? Broader stroke?

As I head off to work now, I have much to ponder. How to spice this up? Anonymize?Commentary on pressing world affairs? Tutorials on dressmaking? Concentration on gardening issues? Comedy routines?

But a further thought occurs to me. I took this up as a bit of relaxation. As a respite from daily life, a destressor. Perfecting new ways of communicating sounds such a lot of hard work. For which I have neither energy nor appetite. I fear you’ll have to make do with me just as I am, after all!!!

About xtrekki

OK - I've been doing this for almost a year now and have still not mastered the mysteries of blogging!! WHAT are widgets? What are tags? Where on the dashboard do I find them or an explanation of how I can get them to work for me? In other aspects of my life I am fairly sharp. I could certainly be advisor to Hercule Poirot in unraveling his most impenetrable of cases. So - why oh why can I not figure out how to manage this bloomin' blog???????
This entry was posted in Current affairs, Books, Bookclubs, Grey's Anatomy, Stella, Adventures with friends, Shoes, Food, Wine, Family. And everything in between!!! and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How others see us

  1. kileen says:

    I look forward to the dressmaking tutorials & the comedy routine. Will you be combining the two?

  2. speccy says:

    If you did the commentary on world affairs then I wouldn’t have to think about them. I’d just quote you when the camera crew turn up at my door. That would be a great public service.
    You can make all my clothes too when you get back from your holidays all rested and refreshed and energetic.

Looking forward to hearing from you...often!

