When the weekend passes and I’m finally convinced I’ve truly got a couple of days to myself – ie, over the Easter bank holiday – I will be able to stop my countdown. In the meantime, I am absolutely duty bound to mention to you (and everyone who comes within range) that in another nine days I’ll be in sunny Spain!!!!!!

I have no intention of attempting to link this introduction with anything else in this blog, but I had to include it just to keep that element of hope, that light at the end of the tunnel, alive for myself!!! I suppose that makes me sound like a total depressive, someone looking over the precipice, holding the hankie with knots on the corner should the parachute be needed. But the truth is – I’m not that person. I’m too medicated/numb for such rational thought.

On the other hand, simple concepts – like lying by a foreign pool, drinking at a foreign bar, soaking up some foreign rays – evoke an entirely instinctive lust for life. Life, as lived elsewhere.

But I suddenly find there is a natural link between the elements of this reverie, after all. Because I had intended to devote it to pondering the changes in fortune of another of our household. Who’s on the way up, out and successfully into the world. From being in a rocky place a few years ago, with ambition but without focus,  she has passed through her own slough of despond, through tentative stages of trial, error, application and determination transformation and eventual goal making.

And yesterday she delighted herself and us, making us proud of her persistance, rewarding her own tenaciousness and our total belief in her ability by out-performing a challenging field and achieving her own personal ideal post. On the 50th floor of the biggest building in Canary Wharf!!! How good is that??????

We are mesmerized – we will miss her but are thrilled for her. But we’re already planning the weekend visits to the apartment she will have to get in London Canary Wharf area!!! Where she tells us (from her whistle-stop tour for yesterday’s interview) that the shopping opportunities are limitless!!!!!

OMG – the vision of  life as it’s set to become…!!

About xtrekki

OK - I've been doing this for almost a year now and have still not mastered the mysteries of blogging!! WHAT are widgets? What are tags? Where on the dashboard do I find them or an explanation of how I can get them to work for me? In other aspects of my life I am fairly sharp. I could certainly be advisor to Hercule Poirot in unraveling his most impenetrable of cases. So - why oh why can I not figure out how to manage this bloomin' blog???????
This entry was posted in Current affairs, Books, Bookclubs, Grey's Anatomy, Stella, Adventures with friends, Shoes, Food, Wine, Family. And everything in between!!! and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. kileen says:

    Wow! Mega impressive news about what sounds like a mega impressive job opportunity! And in Canary Wharf. With shopping. One teeny question- when you’re heading over for your frequent weekend visits, will your airport of choice be Heathrow? Just asking. No particular reason.

  2. xtrekki says:

    I imagine that we could possibly manage to find some way of meeting the shopping needs of close friends/blogging comrades if specific requests were to be made. Although clearly yours was just a theoretical question. And, between the time of blogging and time of responding to questions, I have been updated on the specific address of the future employers – it is THE Canary Wharf building – the one with the pyramid on top!!! (Which, I have to confess, I knew nothing of until until Our Girl was offered a post therein. Yesterday!!!)

Looking forward to hearing from you...often!

