Did I tell you I am going away in ten days time???? Yes – Off to sunny Spain! ( alluded to by Speccy  as ‘Viva Espana’)

Anyway. Guess what I’ve done in the meantime??? I’ve signed up to Skype!!!!! No – I don’t know how to work that either, but I’ve downloaded it to the laptop (ably aided by our resident IT consultant). Who didn’t bother teaching me how to get beyond the download. Somehow or other a load of people who are my Facebook ‘friends’ appear to have received invitations to chat to me on Skype!!! Despite the fact that I never communicate by Facebook anyway and have not had contact with them in real life for years!

So – imagine my surprize when, in the midst of composing this blog, my laptop sprang into life and someone spoke – actual vioce!!! –  to me by Skype!!! Asking who had asked to be their Skype friend!!!!  (Aaaand -although their webcam relayed their picture to my screen, by stroke of luck I couldn’t reciprocate!) Was that really me?? Did I realize I had managed to contact others?? Had I chosen anyone I wished to contact?? The answer, as I’m sure you’ll understand, is ‘no’ to each of these questions!

It leads to the wider admission. I have high spec mobile phone. On which I can make phone calls to people (just about!!) Although it has capacity to email, facebook, twitter, google and every other form of internet application, I reside within the range of the technical iron age and am a total virgin to these uses. My laptop has, indeed, got a webcam, but it has never been activated. What use will I have now of Skype??

Please accept this as declaration of incompetence rather than unwillingness. It is surely my intention – sometime over the course of my life – to master all of these IT mysteries. But – as you can see – the next generation of technology will certainly have dawned before I have mastered that into which I was born and raised!!!

About xtrekki

OK - I've been doing this for almost a year now and have still not mastered the mysteries of blogging!! WHAT are widgets? What are tags? Where on the dashboard do I find them or an explanation of how I can get them to work for me? In other aspects of my life I am fairly sharp. I could certainly be advisor to Hercule Poirot in unraveling his most impenetrable of cases. So - why oh why can I not figure out how to manage this bloomin' blog???????
This entry was posted in Current affairs, Books, Bookclubs, Grey's Anatomy, Stella, Adventures with friends, Shoes, Food, Wine, Family. And everything in between!!! and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

  1. kileen says:

    You’re going on holiday? I didn’t think you even had a passport.
    I’m never doing Skype. Faces appearing & voices? way too scarey.

Looking forward to hearing from you...often!

