More last minute planning…


Tonight I’m spending the evening engrossed in the thankless task of digging out a reasonable price for single journey travel insurance for the folks.  A task which I have been deliberately putting off as long as humanly possible as I knew how frustrated I would become the longer it took me to arrange. And, given that this is sliding into my third hour working at it, you can probably gauge the current state of my patience!

But – even more than the time wasted in this research is the deepening recognition of the hidden cost to an elderly person (or, indeed, a young person whose health is not good) of having a holiday! My folks are not unhealthy, are active/mobile, have not had surgery over this past thirty years, they live alone (and come to ‘do’ our garden) and yet the cost of their insurance is virtually that of the holiday! Should I just allow them to go without any insurance? The worry of that probably would turn father into a shaking wreck! They cling to the belief that their ‘E111’ forms are protection from the bureaucratic black hole of the European Union health care protocols and medical charges chasms.

Aaannnd yet… I am of the belief that holidays are a real boost to everyone. So that, alongside the assessment of risk of injury or further deterioration of specific health conditions, some positive weighting should be factored into all insurance costings of the life affirming value of a week in the sun for those of every age!! Indeed, there should be recognition that those who are motivated and active enough to be planning – and going – on holiday are actually those diligent enough to be taking care of themselves and making fewer calls upon the insurance anyway!

Which brings us neatly to the conclusion that travel insurance policies are unjustifiably skewed toward younger people, who are much more likely to engage spontanoeusly in risky sports, to abuse their bodies with too much alcohol or illegal substances, to ride the ubiquitous holiday motor-scooter dangerously, risking accidents. Clearly there is a human rights argument here and evidence of ageist discrimination??? I feel that investigation of this should be progressed ASAP. Before I have quite crossed that sixtieth/seventyth threshold!!!

About xtrekki

OK - I've been doing this for almost a year now and have still not mastered the mysteries of blogging!! WHAT are widgets? What are tags? Where on the dashboard do I find them or an explanation of how I can get them to work for me? In other aspects of my life I am fairly sharp. I could certainly be advisor to Hercule Poirot in unraveling his most impenetrable of cases. So - why oh why can I not figure out how to manage this bloomin' blog???????
This entry was posted in Current affairs, Books, Bookclubs, Grey's Anatomy, Stella, Adventures with friends, Shoes, Food, Wine, Family. And everything in between!!! and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to More last minute planning…

  1. kileen says:

    I will be looking forward to the holiday photos of you and Margaret engaging in risky sports, motorcycling & knocking back the drink. Oh wait, I’ve already seen you both knocking back the drink on numerous occasions. OK, plenty of photos of hang gliding, rock climbing etc…

  2. xtrekki says:

    Actually I was sussing out a bouldering/orienteering/canoeing company close to our hotel for the two of us to escape to in the evenings……It’s right next to a great wee Irish bar that’s been recommended to us!!!

    • xtrekki says:

      ok -I think that last reply was posted to the wrong section. Even the most technologically efficient people can make slight slip ups, it seems!!!

    • kileen says:

      But the bar is of absolutely no interest to you….just a landmark as you stride purposefully past en route to more adventures & risk taking

Looking forward to hearing from you...often!

