Proper attire


It’s not May yet, Iam toying with the idea of doing without socks. Casting clouts in an umtimely manner. Already my breathing is laboured. Heading towards panic. Ok – it’s sunny and I was warm yesterday whilst I toiled in the garden (well – toiled is probably overstating it!). But I’m intending to go out today and feel that this is a decision which is going to invoke the wrath of the gods. Was this even really something my granny used to say? Surely when she was young the summer started in April and lasted until October? Why am I dogged by this one piece of superstition? Well – that is, apart from that other ‘must do’ of saluting to single magpies? And, of course, not walking under ladders. All of which have a certain proven survival import. (?) Soo – although I am not in any way superstitious, touch wood today is indeed the ideal day to cast the first clout of summer.

About xtrekki

OK - I've been doing this for almost a year now and have still not mastered the mysteries of blogging!! WHAT are widgets? What are tags? Where on the dashboard do I find them or an explanation of how I can get them to work for me? In other aspects of my life I am fairly sharp. I could certainly be advisor to Hercule Poirot in unraveling his most impenetrable of cases. So - why oh why can I not figure out how to manage this bloomin' blog???????
This entry was posted in Current affairs, Books, Bookclubs, Grey's Anatomy, Stella, Adventures with friends, Shoes, Food, Wine, Family. And everything in between!!! and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Proper attire

  1. kileen says:

    Cast clouts! I did, however they have now been uncast. And if you’re worrying about superstition, put the discarded socks in your pocket. Now, you’re still wearing them.

Looking forward to hearing from you...often!

