Days to Remember?


I am an avowed and unashamed Radio 4 afficcionado. I have been so since I ate my rice krispies in my grandmothers kitchen and headed off to primary school with the quirky humour of Jack de Manio reading the news ringing in my ears. I will listen to almost anything (apart from Question Time which is just tooooo borrrriiingg even for me!). I am happy to shout at the radio as headbangers talk rubbish as I drive along. I am happy to laugh out loud whilst I listen to the News Quiz or Clare in the Community (still driving  along – a bit of a theme emerging, perhaps?) And if I happen to be nearing my destination before the end of the Archers, I find myself having to find reasons to stay in the car until the closing credits play out. 

I feel I’m a product of a good, classic, Radio 4 education. I’m totally undiscriminating. I listen to Melvin Bragg and his guests on a Thursday morning talking me through the intricacies of quantum physics or the impact of mesolithic engineering upon modern culture. I have been enthralled by Grayson Perry’s exposition of democracy and the art world. I ponder the mysteries unfolded in the history, the science, the consumer affairs, the arts programmes. I am spellbound by the dramas and the poetry programmes at assorted times of the day.

And I’m probably the best informed person you will ever meet in respect of national/international affairs. I will usually know chapter and verse about any natural catastrophe/human rights insult/impending territorial hostilities. Mind you – I have no idea about what is happening locally. Radio four don’t really care much for regional variations.

 

Yes – some may say I just don’t get out enough!

Ssso. To that end I’ve decided to remedy that with three events planned for the one week!!! This week. (Actually – four, if we count tonight’s college craft class. Which, incidentally, has just started to show some signs of progress!) To some people that may sound run-of-the-mill. To me – three events in one week is life changing/affirming/transformational/utterly unheard of!!! Not to mention exhausting. To even think about. 

Tomorrow night is Charity Event night. Town centre. Straight after work. (Oh – where to park? what if it rains? I’m going to have to walk for miles….. Maybe I’ll leave my car at the folks and get a lift?) Already this sounds like a major exercise in planning….

Aaahh well – the next event – well – it’s not exactly going out. It’s bookclub. And it’s at ours! How convenient! No parking problems. No planning – aarrgghh – did I say no planning??? I’ve taken leave of my senses!!! The only thing not to need planned is the book – which at least I’ve read (did you hear that out there – my bookclub/ bloggie readers???)

Friends – it’s fast approaching winter. It’s cold outside, if not actually frosty tonight. It’s undeniably dark. And I spend long days in work……

This new leaf, this leap outside my comfort zone, this event planning – I’m starting to feel the inexorable creep back to the cozy embrace of radio land already!!

About xtrekki

OK - I've been doing this for almost a year now and have still not mastered the mysteries of blogging!! WHAT are widgets? What are tags? Where on the dashboard do I find them or an explanation of how I can get them to work for me? In other aspects of my life I am fairly sharp. I could certainly be advisor to Hercule Poirot in unraveling his most impenetrable of cases. So - why oh why can I not figure out how to manage this bloomin' blog???????
This entry was posted in Current affairs, Books, Bookclubs, Grey's Anatomy, Stella, Adventures with friends, Shoes, Food, Wine, Family. And everything in between!!!. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Days to Remember?

  1. speccy says:

    Listening to Radio 4- any talky radio- requires thinking and effort. 6 Music and Radio 2 was over me in a pleasant glow, with interesting/ singalong music. No effort. Also, I don’t do planning. More effort.
    And that book! I have things to say. They may not be good…

  2. xtrekki says:

    I find Radio 4 – all the talky stuff – to be very escapist for me! I mean – how can you think of your own troubles when Jenny Murray’s silky tones are explaining the intricacies and hardships of women’s struggles in, say, Azerbaijan? Or wallow in worry about tonight’s dinner when Gardeners’ Question time can whisk you to a world of burgeoning nature and lavish lawns?? And music? Well I listen to Desert Island discs. Naturally.

Looking forward to hearing from you...often!

