Autumn 2013


My lifestyle needed revised. Working/slobbing did not appear to be reaching the optimum balance. An activity seemed to be the answer.

Like other friends and blogging buddies, I have now great hopes for my new autumnal project. I have decided not to spend my long evenings sleeping in front of the tv, but rather, to start a new phase of my life and get a hobby! 

So. Since I’m an avid consumer of jewellery and all things glittery, I’ve chosen silversmithing. Jewellery-making to be rather more precise.

And I’m bound for class number four tomorrow night. Already I find I’m playing catch-up (read ‘lagging behind the others!’) I’ll excuse myself by noting that several of the group have had a head start, having been at previous, similar classes and having several jewellery projects already successfully completed. (I’m going to skim quickly over the fact that this group are in the minority and that most of the class is new to these processes!) Nevertheless, tomorrow night I expect I’ll manage to finish project number one, skip number two and join the others on project number three.

The joy I have found, however, is the new opportunities for retail therapy the course offers. This is a pursuit in which I excel. And the range of hardware required is in excess of anything I could have envisaged. From files to drill bits to containers of every sort, to blades and set squares. Not to mention the opportunity to indulge in purchase of power tools (which I’m still researching). and then the actual materials for shaping into jewellery – the silver/copper/semi-precious stones……(which cost a fortune, unimagined at the signing-up stage!) Lots of shiny bits and pieces to catch the eye and empty the purse.

So – you can see that, by chance, I have stumbled upon a hobby of a lifetime. One that I am surely going to have to practice for a lifetime to get my money’s worth from the tool set I have purchased. 

I’m canvassing now for updates on any craft fairs for next year – clearly I’ll have to have honed my skills by then to craftsperson level and to be fit to sell my bespoke silverware to real, honest-to goodness customers willing to pay real honest-to goodness prices. 

As an escape route from the current daily grind, this is a bit of a long shot. But surely worth experimenting with? 

And – now everyone can bear witness to the fact that I’m actually a very optimistic being underneath that hard, cynical exterior!!!

About xtrekki

OK - I've been doing this for almost a year now and have still not mastered the mysteries of blogging!! WHAT are widgets? What are tags? Where on the dashboard do I find them or an explanation of how I can get them to work for me? In other aspects of my life I am fairly sharp. I could certainly be advisor to Hercule Poirot in unraveling his most impenetrable of cases. So - why oh why can I not figure out how to manage this bloomin' blog???????
This entry was posted in Current affairs, Books, Bookclubs, Grey's Anatomy, Stella, Adventures with friends, Shoes, Food, Wine, Family. And everything in between!!!. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Autumn 2013

  1. speccy says:

    Set squares, power tools and glittery things!! excellent stuff :) I look forward to the masterpieces

Looking forward to hearing from you...often!

