Not Another Countdown….


Well, I’m back to the grindstome today. But – as I mentioned to those around me (and I mean ALL those around!!) in two weeks timeI’ll be heading off to Cambodia~!!!!

Now. As everyone knows, I’m reluctant to start into juvenile behaviour like countdowns. I’m far too sensible, adult, responsible to indulge in such frippery. Besides, it never works out. They are the definition of the harbingers of doom. They challenge plans to explode.

Or am I sounding paranoid? Do such scruples sound more like baited breath?

Just this once, for today only and only in the forum of this blog – I can’t wait!!!  We’ve only the vaguest of plans for the period beyond the scheduled trek – ie – that we’ll be staying for a further week. We sort of figure we’ll head down to catch a glimpse of Pnomn Penn. and perhaps we’ll get around to checking out the Foreign Correspondents club, which others who have visited  that far off land report to be unmissable. Or we may get to the shooting range featured on a Sky travel programme this week, which allowed punters to shoot whatever weapon they could name or afford. (Extemes?? They don’t matter to intrepid travellers like us!)

Or maybe  the trek will propel us into our lifelong mystical, spiritual search and we will spend the following week on a reverential odyssey, a sacred pilgrimage around the ancient temples of that inspirational font of devotion. Shangri-La lies ahead of us.

Maybe we will even just find that the beaches are good, the weather hot, the  markets cheap and the local fire water invigorating!

Whatever. I don’t care. Actually I don’t even care if it rains. (Yes – even if it rains!!!!!. Are you getting a hint of my excitement, anticipation, joy at being on leave from that daily grind???)

And with that in mind – did I tell you I’m going away in two weeks time????

About xtrekki

OK - I've been doing this for almost a year now and have still not mastered the mysteries of blogging!! WHAT are widgets? What are tags? Where on the dashboard do I find them or an explanation of how I can get them to work for me? In other aspects of my life I am fairly sharp. I could certainly be advisor to Hercule Poirot in unraveling his most impenetrable of cases. So - why oh why can I not figure out how to manage this bloomin' blog???????
This entry was posted in Current affairs, Books, Bookclubs, Grey's Anatomy, Stella, Adventures with friends, Shoes, Food, Wine, Family. And everything in between!!!. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Not Another Countdown….

  1. speccy says:

    are you going somewhere? You never said!

  2. scarlettruby says:

    Clearly not a busy day in the emporium of your incarceration then?

  3. xtrekki says:

    Actually a manic day – but a little down time is always reinvigorating an absolute essential to maintain concentration and empathy!

Looking forward to hearing from you...often!

